Eve M. Cooper Blog

Write Wisely

Sam Dillard’s Bar-B-Q Sauce Review

Oh my. Let me say that prior to this review, the other sauces I’ve reviewed, I had tasted at some point in my life. My excitement may have been just as profound as what I experienced last night, however, with the passing of time, my enthusiasm somewhat waned. This review isn’t hampered by the passing of time. Last night is the first time I’ve tried this sauce and it is 100% a winner! I’m talking about Sam Dillard’s Bar-B-Q Sauce. I am from the Eastern part of North Carolina where thin, vinegary sauce is king. I love that sauce but I also enjoy a sweet, tomato based sauce occasionally. This sauce is different from the more traditional type of sauce because it has a mustard base. It’s hot, it’s spicy and totally zippy. If you love highly seasoned food, try this sauce! I grilled two bone-in pork chops that I’d lightly salt and peppered then basted continuously while grilling. This sauce was so flavorful, it really didn’t need the extra salt and pepper (it’s just my habit to salt and pepper pork prior to cooking). When I opened the bottle, I sniffed and tasted a little and I wasn’t too impressed. As the sauce cooked, it grew better and better so if you buy it and become leery, continue to cook with it then, judge the final outcome. In terms of heat, it is faintly reminiscent of the mustard sauce in Chinese restaurants. I do not eat that type of mustard because it’s too hot, but I have tasted it. This sauce is reminiscent of Chinese mustard in that it hits the palate with some degree of heat then grows hotter in the next 10 seconds or so. I would not give this sauce to a child because I think it would be too hot. It has a medium to high degree of heat and I know some adults also would find this sauce too hot. I, however, loved it. The label indicates that it’s good on chicken, pork, or beef. I would agree. The serving size is 2 tablespoons of sauce and it has 15 calories, 230 mg of sodium, and 3 g of sugar. The ingredients are water, vinegar, tomato concentrate, corn syrup, spices, salt, onion powder, zanthan gum, turmeric, and natural flavors.
Here’s the breakdown of my review…
OVERALL rating: 5 stars (1 being horrible and 5 being terrific)
HEAT level: 7 (on a scale of 1 – 10, 10 being very hot)
SWEET level: 1 (on a scale of 1 – 10, 10 being very sweet)
SALT level: not very salty
TOMATO level: 1 (on a scale of 1 – 10, 10 being very tomato pasty)
ZIPPINESS: very zippy!
SMOKINESS: none
FLAVOR intensity: 8 (on a scale of 1 – 10, 10 being very intense)
COST: between $3.00 and $4.00 per 16 oz bottle

bottle 01

good 03

good 02

Single Post Navigation

Leave a Reply

